Local runner gives Kenyans a run for their money in cross country meet

KENYANS Samuel Tarus Too and Hilary Kipchumba Kimutai completed a one-two finish in the men’s open category at the 25th edition of the Federal Territory Amateur Athletics Association (FTAAA) cross country meet at the Taman Lembah Kiara in Taman Tun Dr Ismail on Sunday.

However, the foreign duo praised their closest local competitor Ahmad Luth Hamizan for putting up a courageous performance.

Samuel clocked 41:12 to emerge as the winner ahead of Hilary and Ahmad in second (41:21) and third (41:59) respectively over the 8km distance.

In his first local cross country race, the 26-year-old Samuel said it was tough tackling the undulating course at the park.

“He (Ahmad) is very strong and was with us until the final 1km to the finish line. Another local runner (fourth men’s open finisher M. Murali) also tried to match us. We were impressed with both of them for putting up a strong challenge,” Samuel said.

The six other categories decided over 6km were women’s open, men’s junior veteran, men’s senior veteran, women’s veteran, boys’ junior and girls’ junior. Amatha Aramagam was the runaway winner in the women’s open contest and completed the race in 50:05. Her closest challenger Irine Jeptoo Kipchumba was trailing more than five minutes behind (55:56) followed by Wan Noor Mahirah in third (56:41).

A total of 1,200 participants including primary school pupils in the 1.9km fun run signed up for the recent event. The organisers admitted it was a challenge for them to host the run in an unknown territory.

“It was also our first time exploring a new location. We picked the venue because the natural trail is much more suitable for cross country running compared to other options around the Klang Valley,” said FTAAA secretary S. Vegiyathuman.



Men’s Open: 1. Samuel Tarus Too 41:12; 2. Hilary Kipchumba Kimutai 41:21; 3. Ahmad Luth Hamizan 41:59


Women’s Open: 1. Amatha Aramagam 50:05; 2. Irine Jeptoo Kipchumba 55:56; 3. Wan Noor Mahirah 56:41

Men’s Junior Veteran: 1. M. Prabahkharan 36:50; 2. Casey Lim Khon Seng 40:10; 3. Ng Say Heong 41:44

Men’s Senior Veteran: 1. R. Nanchappan 40:33; 2. Ridzwan Sulaiman 41:32; 3. Vincent Wong Weng Seng 43:15

Women’s Veteran: 1. Kashimah Kasiri 1’01:50; 2. Chow Chooz Moy 1’02:30; 3. Chan Yin Yian 1’03:40

Boys’ Junior: 1. Mohd Firdaus Kamis 36:26; 2. Kumaresan 36:53; 3. Kesavaraja 36:55

Girls’ Junior: 1. Ng Sue Yee 55:50; 2. Choo Siew Yen 59:14; 3. R. Paidiamani 59:57

Read Full Article

People who read this post also read :